books . poetry . events . about . blog . faq . need help? . contact
Instagram Facebook Twitter Tumblr Pinterest Goodreads

tmtf-3d-version_new_sm

Teach Me To Forget

Hello! I’m Erica. I write dark, emotional novels with a burst of humor, and lighter contemporaries with smart-ass protagonists. My debut, TEACH ME TO FORGET (Simon Pulse) is out now!

amazon bn bookdepot indiebound audible_logo_150x150

Teach Me to Forget is the story of Ellery, a girl who learns how to live while waiting for the date she chose to die.

Ellery’s bought the gun, made arrangements for her funeral, and even picked the day. A Wednesday. Everything has fallen into place.

Now all she has to do is die.

When her plans go awry and the gun she was going to kill herself with breaks, she does the one thing she has control over–return it and get a new one. After tormenting the crusty customer service associate by trying to return the gun with the wrong receipt, Ellery gets caught by the security guard who also happens to be someone she knows–the annoyingly perfect Colter Sawyer from her English class.

Colter quickly uncovers what she’s hiding and is determined to change her mind. After confessing a closely held secret of his own, he promises not to tell hers. Ellery tries to fight her attraction to him as the shadows of her past cling tight around her, but when she’s faced with another tragedy, she must decide whether she can learn to live with what she’s done or follow through with her plan to die.

**Please understand that while I add a good mix of humor and sarcasm into Ellery’s character, TMTF does have triggers such as suicide, self-harm, depression, and loss of a loved one. Please read and discuss this topic with someone you love. Read other books that deal with similar subjects like Kathleen Glasgow’s GIRL IN PIECES, or books by Ellen Hopkins or Jennifer Brown, and countless others. Tell someone you love them. Hug them tight. If you or someone you know wants to harm themselves please get help. Click here for a list of resources or call the National (U.S.) Suicide Prevention Hotline: 1-800-273-8255.

Interested in what music inspired TEACH ME TO FORGET? Click here to see the playlist on All the Write Notes blog!

What Others Are Saying

“In this stunningly brave and necessary debut, Erica M. Chapman takes us on a journey to the edge and back—exploring grief, depression, and suicide with candor, insight, and above all, hope.” – Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

 “A beautifully crafted, dark, and heartbreaking look at depression and suicide. Ellery’s story is needed and necessary; Chapman is a writer to watch.” – Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces

“High school junior Ellery Stevens has decided to end her life. She cannot stop blaming herself for the freak driving accident in which her beloved younger sister was killed. Ellery’s voice is engaging and authentic, and her edgy black humor comes into play…. Sadness gives way to redemption and an unforced hope in this thoughtful read.” –Kirkus Reviews

Ellery finds life after the death of her little sister, Tate, unbearable. Chapman has crafted a hauntingly beautiful story with richly developed characters. A moving tale to recommend, especially to readers who loved Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places.” —School Library Journal

“Will leave readers thinking about the characters’ stories long after the last page. Erica M. Chapman manages to tackle a very difficult topic in this novel, but does so tactfully and inserts bits of humor that help to lighten the mood. A must-read novel from debut author Erica M. Chapman that will have readers cherishing the lives of the people they love just a little bit more.” – Teenreads

“Writing about suicide and mental health isn’t easy, but Erica M. Chapman’s debut embraces the challenge. An emotional read, this book is perfect for fans of My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga and Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang.” —Paste Magazine

As seen in Teen Vogue

“I so badly wanted to take away Ellery’s pain, to hug her until things got better. Ellery just has so much to offer the world, and I would love to be there when she realizes it. Ellery–even while making her new plans and being set in her wish to carry them out–starts finding a piece of life to subconsciously hold on to. There’s hope in her situation, even when she feels like all is lost.” –Forever Young Adult

“Chapman has brilliantly written from a perspective of authenticity that produces a genuinely wrenching story. Ellery is heartbreakingly realistic, and readers will find themselves lost in her turmoil. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Jennifer Brown will clamor for this debut novel from an author whose dark and emotional story will resonate with teen readers.” —VOYA Magazine

“Chapman’s vivid story-telling made these characters come to life in my imagination. My heart ached for Ellery and the deep, dark depression that overwhelmed her. While the book is incredibly heart-wrenching, there is a glimmer of hope throughout. THIS BOOK IS A MUST-READ!” –MW Ladies Who Lit

“Thoughtful, tough, and darkly funny novel.” –Bustle.com

Welcome Home – An Adoption Anthology
Edited by Eric Smith

My Contribution: “The Sign”

Welcome Home cover